PRIMAFAMED is a network of academic institutions in sub-Saharan Africa, which are focused on training and research in the discipline of family medicine. The majority of members therefore are Departments of Family Medicine and Primary Care within sub-Saharan Africa at academic institutions or universities.

Where no academic institutions exist or where individuals are not part of such institutions, it may also be possible for individuals focused on training and research in the discipline of family medicine to be part of the network.

Current members of the network are listed below:

  1. Botswana (University of Botswana)
  2. Democratic Republic of Congo (Protestant University in Congo)
  3. Democratic Republic of Congo (University of Mwene-Ditu)
  4. Eswatini (University of Swaziland)
  5. Ethiopia (University of Addis Ababa)
  6. Ghana (University of Ghana)
  7. Kenya (Universities of Maseno, Kabarak, Aga Khan, Moi, Kenyatta)
  8. Lesotho (National University of Lesotho)
  9. Malawi (University of Malawi)
  10. Mali (University of Bamako)
  11. Mozambique (University of Mozambique)
  12. Namibia (University of Namibia)
  13. Nigeria (Universities of Lagos and Calabar)
  14. Rwanda (National University of Rwanda)
  15. South Africa (Universities of Cape Town, Stellenbosch, Free State, Witwatersrand, Pretoria, Sefako Makgatho, Limpopo, KwaZulu-Natal, Walter Sisulu)
  16. Sudan (Ahfad University for Women, University of Gezira)
  17. Tanzania (Aga Khan University)
  18. Togo (University of Lome)
  19. Uganda (Universities of Makerere and Mbarara)
  20. Zambia (University of Zambia)
  21. Zimbabwe (College of Primary Care Physicians of Zimbabwe, National University of Science and Technology, University Zimbabwe)
  22. Sierra Leone (University of Sierra Leone Teaching Hospitals Complex (USLTHC)
  23. Madagascar (Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Joseph-Raseta Befelatanana Antananarivo)
  24. Senegal (University of Thies)
  25. Cameroon (add detail)